Peabody Hall

Established by the Arkansas General Assembly in 2003, the Education Renewal Zones comprise a multiyear Pre-K-16 initiative funded by the state of Arkansas to help improve public school performance and student academic achievement. The Northwest ERZ is a collaborative effort among the University of Arkansas, the Northwest Arkansas Education Services Cooperative, partner schools and community organizations.

ERZ Partnership Office

Arkanas has 6 Education Renewal Zones: UA-Fayetteville, Arkansas State University, UA-Fort Smith, UA-Monticello, Henderson State University and Southern Arkansas University.

The Education Renewal Zone is a broad-based P-20 initiative assigned the task of concentrating and coordinating available resources to improve school performance and student achievement. The primary focus is through a collaborative effort of the partners to build the capacity of schools in providing a competent organizational structure, a quality-learning environment, and effective research-based instruction for all students. Working in partnership with a College of Education, each ERZ office designs a unique yearly strategic plan synchronized around the individual needs of their schools.

The University of Arkansas ERZ has been able to serve its K-12 partner schools by providing an opportunity for collaboration among institutions of higher education, education service cooperatives, public schools, local businesses, parents, and community members all focused on school improvement and systemic educational reform in Northwest Arkansas.


  1. Collaborate with stakeholders to transform teaching and learning in a student-focused environment
  2. Address teacher recruitment and retention needs in Northwest Arkansas
  3. Deepen pre-service and teacher content knowledge and instructional strategies to impact student achievement
  4. Build the capacity of ERZ team members

State’s Other Education Renewal Zones